Emeritus Professor Brian Dawson


Brian Dawson is a recently retired (now Emeritus) Professor of sport and exercise physiology from the School of Human Sciences at the University of Western Australia, where he has been based since 1982. He has nearly 300 journal papers in print, many concerning the physiology of intermittent high intensity exercise in the football codes and other team sports. He has supervised 35 Doctoral, 21 Masters and 77 Honours students to completion, with many now employed in Universities and Sports Institutes in Australia and overseas. In the football world he was the Fitness Coach for the West Coast Eagles FC (AFL) from 1988-2000, and continued as a research consultant with them until 2018. In 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015 he was a Keynote speaker at the World Congresses of Science and Football, and is the immediate past Chair (2009-19) of the Science in Football Steering Committee, under the auspices of the World Congress of Sports Sciences. He has a Level 3 Australian Football coaching accreditation and has been an assistant and Senior coach with Swan Districts FC in the WAFL (State League), taking the Reserves (2006) and Senior team (2010) to Premierships. In 2011 he coached the WAFL State team. More recently, he was the Senior coach at East Perth FC in the WAFL in 2013-15, taking them into the finals in each season, and then a Coaching Coordinator/Advisor for WAFL Colts coaches in 2017-18.

Presentation details

Saturday, 6 March 2021
3:30pm – 4:30pm
Riverside Theatre

About the Frank Cotton Memorial Lecture


The Frank Cotton Memorial Lecture has been awarded at each Research to Practice conference since 2004.   This lecture is awarded to an Australian Scientist/Practitioner who has made an outstanding contribution to a relevant area in Sports Science.


Previous winners are:

2004:     Dr Chris Gore – Australian Institute of Sport

2006:     Prof Louise Burke – Australian Institute of Sport

2008:     Prof Bruce Elliott – University of Western Australia

2010:     Prof Bruce Abernethy – University of Hong Kong

2012:     Prof Rob Newton – Edith Cowan University

2014:     Prof Mark Hargreaves – The University of Melbourne

2016:     Prof John Hawley – Australian Catholic University

2018:     Dr David T Martin – Philadelphia 76ers